Factors Affecting Bacterial Spores in Organic Tank Milk

Join eOrganic for a webinar on how farm management practices affect spore levels in organic tank milk, by Dr. Nicole Martin of Cornell University. The webinar takes place on August 7, 2024 at 11AM Pacific, 12PM Mountain, 1PM Central, 2PM Eastern Time. It's free and open to the public and advance registration is required.

Register now at: https://oregonstate.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_OkeBhkDFRaKRhaIPLBkAzA

About the Webinar

Sporeforming bacteria are ubiquitous in the dairy farm environment. They can survive pasteurization and cause spoilage in dairy products and can also affect laboratory pasteurization counts (LPC), a common parameter used for quality premiums on organic dairy farms. This webinar will discuss farm management practices that impact the levels and types of spores found in bulk tank milk, and practical strategies that can be used to decrease the level of spores in organic bulk tank milk.

About the Presenter

Dr. Nicole Martin is an Assistant Research Professor in the Department of Food Science at Cornell University. Nicole oversees the farm to consumer dairy microbiology research conducted in the Milk Quality Improvement Program (MQIP) and works closely with dairy industry stakeholders including producers and processors. Nicole studies the transmission of spoilage organisms from environmental niches into raw and processed dairy products, strategies to reduce or eliminate this transmission, the implications of spoilage organisms on finished product and methods of detection. This project was funded by the NIFA OREI grant 2019-51300-30242: A Systems Approach To Improve Quality and Shelf Life of Organic Dairy Products for Domestic and Export Markets.

Published July 8, 2024

This is an eOrganic article and was reviewed for compliance with National Organic Program regulations by members of the eOrganic community. Always check with your organic certification agency before adopting new practices or using new materials. For more information, refer to eOrganic's articles on organic certification.