Integrated Management of Field Bindweed and Canada Thistle in Organic Cropping Systems

Join eOrganic for a webinar on management of field bindweed and Canada thistle on organic farms! The webinar will take place on October 13, 2021 at 11AM Pacific, 12PM Mountain, 1PM Central and 2PM Eastern Time. It's free and open to the public, and advance registration is required. 

Register now at https://oregonstate.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_zF2BSWd-Q8KBrzVOXFjzfw

About the Webinar


This webinar will focus on the difficult task of managing perennial weeds in organic cropping systems using integrated management strategies. We will report on how crop rotations, tillage, and biocontrol can be used in organic systems to reduce field bindweed and Canada thistle.  

About the Presenters

Pat Carr is the superintendent and Associate Professor at Montana State University’s Central Agricultural Research Center. Tim Seipel is the cropland weed Extension specialist and Assistant Research Professor at Montana State University, and Jed Eberly is a microbiologist and Assistant Professor at Montana State University.  

Funding for this webinar is provided by NIFA OREI. The researchers are participants in the project CREEP Stop: Organic Control of Canada Thistle and Field Bindweed in the Northern Great Plains and Pacific Northwest Regions. Find more information about the project at https://eorganic.info/creepstop

 


 

Published August 25, 2021

This is an eOrganic article and was reviewed for compliance with National Organic Program regulations by members of the eOrganic community. Always check with your organic certification agency before adopting new practices or using new materials. For more information, refer to eOrganic's articles on organic certification.