Livestock Mortality Composting Webinar

Composting provides a way to recycle nutrients on the farm and to create a soil-building amendment. Composting is also an effective option for recycling livestock mortalities and butcher waste. This webinar will describe how composting works, how to prepare for composting livestock mortalities, how to start it off right and stay on track. Researchers Dr. Lynne Carpenter-Boggs and Dr. Rachel Wieme at Washington State University. will teach you how to manage the process for biosecurity, environmental protection, regulatory compliance, and success.

The webinar takes place on September 16, 2020 at 2PM Eastern Time, 1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time. Advance registration is required. 

Register now at: https://oregonstate.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_pouFmMYnTrmff4dz4kO71A

register now button

About the Presenters

Lynne Carpenter-Boggs, lcboggs@wsu.edu

Dr. Lynne Carpenter-Boggs is a soil scientist and professor in the Department of Crop and Soil Sciences at WSU. She teaches courses on sustainable soil management and organic agriculture. Her research includes carbon footprints of agriculture, nitrogen fixation, compost teas, crop-livestock integration, and other aspects of bio-intensive agriculture.

Rachel Wieme , rachel.wieme@wsu.edu

Dr. Rachel Wieme is a soil scientist and postdoctoral research associate at WSU. Her research is focused on sustainable agriculture, particularly on measuring and promoting soil health. Recent work includes a study of organic crop rotations with quinoa for eastern Washington, along with an interdisciplinary fellowship on improving communication of scientific research for public policy. 

Published August 12, 2020

This is an eOrganic article and was reviewed for compliance with National Organic Program regulations by members of the eOrganic community. Always check with your organic certification agency before adopting new practices or using new materials. For more information, refer to eOrganic's articles on organic certification.