Seed Potato Production and Breeding in Organic Systems

Join eOrganic for a webinar on seed potato production and breeding in organic systems, by Rue Genger of the University of Wisconsin Madison Department of Horticulture. The webinar takes place on April 8, 2020 at 2PM Pacific, 3PM Mountain, 4PM Central, 5PM Eastern Time. It's free and open to the public, and advance registration is required. 

Register now at https://oregonstate.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_7eA9i7H4Sky6JKanAAe41Q

Register now

About the Webinar


Healthy crops start with healthy seeds, and potatoes are no exception. Join us to learn how seed potato crops are kept healthy through careful inspection and testing, what it means for seed potatoes to be "certified", and where organic certification fits into this picture. We'll also talk about true potato seed, potato breeding, and how true seed is developing as a possible alternative to seed potatoes. 

Rue Genger, from the Department of Horticulture at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, has been working with organic growers for the past 13 years to trial potato varieties and seed potato production on-farm. This webinar is part of a collaboration between the Organic Seed Alliance, North Circle Seeds and North Central SARE.

Find all upcoming and archived eOrganic webinars here

Published March 27, 2020

This is an eOrganic article and was reviewed for compliance with National Organic Program regulations by members of the eOrganic community. Always check with your organic certification agency before adopting new practices or using new materials. For more information, refer to eOrganic's articles on organic certification.