Growing Organic Tomato Seed: A How-To Virtual Training

Are you interested in producing high quality organic tomato seed for your own farm or for sale? Join Tomato Organic Management and Improvement Project (TOMI) partners Laurie McKenzie and Jared Zystro from Organic Seed alliance, and Plant Pathologist Dan Egel from Purdue University for a virtual training on the how-to’s of organic tomato seed production. This webinar will cover tomato biology, climatic requirements, genetic maintenance, disease management, and how to harvest clean and store tomato seed. The webinar takes place on April 20, 2021 at 12PM Pacific Time, 1PM Mountain, 2PM Central, 3PM Eastern Time. It's free and open to the public, and advance registration is required.

Register now at https://oregonstate.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_6s2v6x_SRnC9iSl7iG-f2A

This training is based on the recently published Tomato Seed Production Guide available for free download at https://seedalliance.org/publications/tomato-seed-production-guide/

Published March 11, 2021

This is an eOrganic article and was reviewed for compliance with National Organic Program regulations by members of the eOrganic community. Always check with your organic certification agency before adopting new practices or using new materials. For more information, refer to eOrganic's articles on organic certification.