Biological Control Options in Vegetable Production

Join eOrganic for a webinar on biological control in organic vegetable production in February and March, 2021! This webinar takes place on February 3, 2021 at 11AM Pacific, 12PM Mountain, 1PM Central and 2PM Eastern. It's free and open to the public, and advance registration is required.

Register now at https://oregonstate.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_qg2Q22qfQRKkskaxH83feA

register

About the Webinar

This webinar will introduce the audience to biological control strategies commonly employed in vegetable production against insects and mites. Topics to be discussed include biopesticides available for vegetable production and their target pests, the benefits and shortcomings of biological control agent releases, companion planting for attracting natural enemies, and careful selection of insecticides or miticides that have minimal negative impacts on biological control agents.

About the Presenters

JC Chong is a professor and extension specialist, and Gunn Gill is a post-doctoral research associate at Clemson University, South Carolina. Chong and Gill and part of a OREI-supported research and extension team focusing on developing and implementing effective biological control programs for major pests in tomato and squash production system.

More Webinars on Biological Control in 2021

This webinar is part of a series of 4 webinars about biological control in organic vegetables as part of a NIFA OREI funded project. Find them all on the eOrganic webinar schedule.

Published December 28, 2020

This is an eOrganic article and was reviewed for compliance with National Organic Program regulations by members of the eOrganic community. Always check with your organic certification agency before adopting new practices or using new materials. For more information, refer to eOrganic's articles on organic certification.